Icon Grill’s mac n’ cheese


I was in Seattle for the past two weeks, and I was delighted to see my little brother showing an interest in cooking. One of his favorite places to eat out is the Icon Grill, and he loves their macaroni and cheese. It is super intense — lots of Velveeta cubes mixed with two types of cheddar and gruyere, served with a molten cheese sauce (as if there wasn’t enough cheese already).

I dug up an old copy of KCTS Chefs cookbook. The cookbook was part of a fundraising drive for the local public television back in 2004, and it includes recipes from local restaurants. I bought it for a different Icon Grill recipe (the Cajun rock shrimp penne — Try it if you ever get the chance!), but it also included the recipe for the Ultimate Macaroni and Cheese.

So we baked!

I won’t write the recipe out here, since I don’t own it, but the restaurant’s web site is featuring a recipe for Fried Macaroni and Cheese, which is suspiciously similar to the dish we made. I gather that the restaurant’s kitchen takes leftover mac n’ cheese and fashions it into a fried appetizer.

So start with this recipe. After pouring the macaroni mix into the pan, top it with the bread crumbs and bake at 400 degrees until bubbly. The molten cheese sauce works the same way in both recipes.

We served it in individual-sized dishes, which were so rich that our family of six barely got through two. It was such an involved and lengthy process, which I relished as an excuse to bond with my 16-year-old bro. Yay for bonding time and relaxation to ease into the new year!

1 Comment

Filed under Feed Me

One response to “Icon Grill’s mac n’ cheese

  1. sbahmed

    Nice post! I almost ate my laptop.

Leave a Reply

