Roasted tomato and corn salsa


We recently visited a cousin in Maryland, and she sent us home with a handful of serrano and jalapeno peppers from her garden. So I considered it a sign when this month’s Saveur Magazine happened to be “The Mexico Issue.” After reading through the colorful accounts of Mexican cuisine, I had a strong appetite for some spicy, roasted salsa.

I served the salsa with a tomato and bell pepper rice based on a recipe in the Saveur issue. The only change I made was to substitute a bell pepper for peas. I also used black beans, which came straight out of a Trader Joe’s can and were merely heated up.

The real focus of this post is that salsa. Now there are as many salsas as there are stars over Mexico, and mine is a conglomerate of what I read in the magazine, my own thoughts about what would taste good, and what I had on hand in the fridge. I decided to roast the vegetables to help give the salsa some semblance of the smoky flavor you would get if you charred them over a grill.

Recipe after the jump.


Start by chopping up your veggies into 1/2 inch cubes. You’ll need two medium-sized tomatoes, 1 onion and 1 jalapeno. You can seed the pepper if you like. I didn’t, and my salsa had quite a bit of heat.

Lay those chopped vegetables (and I guess the tomato is a fruit!) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Add 1 cup of corn kernels. Bake these at 400 degrees for half an hour, turning them about halfway and cooking them until the corn starts to brown slightly.

Reserve about 1/4 of the vegetables, and blend the rest in a food processor with the juice of 2 limes, 1 tsp. of agave nectar and salt to taste.

Stir in the reserved vegetables and a handful of chopped cilantro.

The salsa should last in the fridge for a week. In addition to the rice and beans, I ate the salsa with a little yogurt to cut the spice. Sour cream would also work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Feed Me

Leave a Reply

