Islamophobia and the Sikh shootings

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about work, but I did want to share a recent radio interview. I spoke with NPR’s To The Point about the recent shooting at a Wisconsin gurudwara that left seven people dead, including the gunman. The show focused on Islamophobia, which many believe to be the reason for the shooting, although we don’t know that for sure yet. It’s so common for Sikhs to be targeted in anti-Muslim hate crimes that the FBI actually tracks the two in one lump group. Whether that is a good thing is a matter up for debate, and I just hope that the debate currently underway thrives long enough for us to find some answers for preventing such atrocities in the future.

Listen in and let me know what you think. It’s a tragic issue, and I am grateful that I was able to contribute in some way by discussing some of the political issues at hand.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Marginalized

Leave a Reply

