Basil mayonnaise


Here’s an easy recipe that came from an early morning inspiration. I bought flour tortillas to make wraps for work lunches this week, and as I contemplated making an eggplant and slow-roasted tomato wrap one morning (out of eggplant and tomatoes already baked and ready to go, of course), it occurred to me that I could flavor my mayonnaise with the basil leaves that were threatening to turn on my counter.

All I did was pick about a dozen basil leaves and work them in a food processor with 1/4 cup of mayonnaise. The green spread lasted all week and provided a really bright, flavorful sauce to all our sandwiches. It would work great in a turkey and cheese sandwich, or perhaps mixed in with cooked chicken to make a chicken salad sandwich. And the concept would work with other herbs, too. I could see cilantro or parsley working really well, or even a dash of stronger herbs such as sage and rosemary. If you try any of those, comment and let me know how it goes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Feed Me

Leave a Reply

