Turkey pot pie with no-butter crust

turkeypotpie1
If you’re wondering what happened to my leftover turkey meat, after a few days of picking at it, I shredded the remaining two cups to make a turkey pot pie.

The filling was basically made according to this recipe by The Pioneer Woman Cooks, a great blog. But I used whole milk instead of cream, since that’s what I always have on hand, and skipped the thyme and carrots. I threw in 1/2 cup of corn and 1 cup of leeks, and I halved the butter.

turkeypotpie2

I made the filling and filled the 10-inch pie dish, as pictured. Then I covered it with foil and left it in the fridge for several days as I waited for the opportune moment to serve my pie.

I also prepped the pie dough in advance, letting it rest in the fridge for two days, and it came out wonderfully flaky. Here’s the trick to my pie dough: I didn’t use any butter.

Recipe for that after the jump.

I made my pie dough with Earth Balance coconut spread, which a friend of mine suggested as a healthier way to make flaky pie and quiche crusts. (You can get it at Whole Foods.) I loved it! It is definitely more crumbly than a butter crust, but in a great way, and it has a very subtle hint of coconut in it that I thought enhanced the dish.

To make the dough, I put 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1 tsp. salt in a food processor and pulsed it to mix the ingredients. Then I added 5 oz. of coconut spread, cubed and frozen for 15 minutes (That’s half of the container I linked to above.)

Pulse again until the dough gets crumbly, taking care not to overdo the mixing. Typically a pie crust includes a few tablespoons of water to bring the dough together, but I found that I didn’t need any with the coconut spread.

So just transfer the dough into a large freezer bag and form it into a ball. Refrigerate until you’re ready to use it for the pie.

When you’re ready to bake the pie, preheat the oven to 400 degrees and remove the foil from your pie dish.

Using a rolling pin, roll out the pie crust inside the freezer bag (just cut the sides of the bag and flour the dough slightly). This is a great little trick I picked up from Food Network’s Alton Brown to avoid getting sticky dough all over the counter and your rolling pin. I recommend watching the video if you haven’t made a crust before.

Lay the crust over the turkey filling, trim and pinch the ends and pierce it in a few places to allow steam to get through.

Bake for 45 minutes, or until the pie is golden brown. Cool for at 15 minutes before cutting into it and serving.

Note: The cooking time is longer than the Pioneer Woman recipe calls for, and I think it’s because the coconut spread just took longer to bake than a butter-based crust. Just keep an eye on the pie and pull it out when it’s the right color.

This recipe is such a winner. We devoured it and will be making variations of it again soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Feed Me

One response to “Turkey pot pie with no-butter crust

  1. These are genuinely great ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious things here. Any way
    keep up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

