Coconut cloud cake with baby in tow

cloudcake2

I baked a cake today for a friend who is moving out of town. Nothing special, but it was a big achievement for me, since I did so while trying to keep Baby S entertained.

He spent some time hanging out in his rocker while I prepped the ingredients, and then I shifted him into a baby carrier when he got fussy. I continued whipping up my egg whites for this delectable, airy cake with baby in tow.

cloudcake3

Speaking of whipping, I debuted my new KitchenAid hand mixer with this recipe, a replacement for the Oster my mom had handed down to me (after using it for more than two decades) and I subsequently broke. The KitchenAid is a beauty, and it was a little birthday gift to myself. Next year, I’m aiming for a stand mixer, but I figured this would do just fine while I’m still dealing with limited counter space.

The coconut cloud cake recipe isn’t mine, it’s Martha’s (Stewart, that is). You can find it here. She is a great source for baking recipes, and this one comes with a video that helps you get a sense of the textures involved in this airy cake. It was a great way for me to use up the dozen egg whites I was left with after Sunday’s cooking class, which I previously posted about. We had used egg yolks for bread pudding, and I didn’t want to waste the rest of the egg. The recipe calls for 17 egg whites!

If you make it, make yourself a bunch of custard or bread pudding as well, and you’ll use up both parts of the egg. 🙂 I halved the recipe and made it in a smaller (7-inch square) pan than the it called for. Here is the cake as I started to frost it:

cloudcake1

The mixer worked wonders, and the cake was indeed light and fluffy. It’s essentially an angel food cake, topped with a glossy, sweet frosting that is really good (but doesn’t stay well, so make it last minute). Check out how fluffy it is and how stiff the peaks got once I whipped it for 7 minutes:

cloudcake4

The entire cake gets a good couple cups of coconut flakes on top, and I used Bob’s Red Mill, courtesy of Just Simply… Cuisine. I’m taking it to my friend’s goodbye party tonight, and I’m sure it will be a hit!

2 Comments

Filed under Feed Me

2 responses to “Coconut cloud cake with baby in tow

  1. Angela

    That looks fabulous!! Martha’s coconut cake is my birthday cake tradition. Loved that you used the fancy shards of coconut!

  2. Looks delicious! I’ll have to keep this recipe in mind for my MIL’s bday, coconut is her favorite.

Leave a Reply

