Corn grits, long overdue

1308Austin
My last post was shortly before my maternity leave ended. As I returned to work and juggled my that with my new role as a mother, this blog fell by the wayside. I have thought about it plenty, and I have kept cooking. But I apologize to those of you out there who actually check this routinely for not having posted. I hope the joy captured in the photo above pardons me a bit.

Just don’t give up yet! I have transitioned from my job as a congressional reporter to freelance work, and my plan is to give this blog a little more love as well. It may be quiet here, but it has been very busy in the kitchen, where we are in the full swing of summer. The CSA has been offering us all sorts of delicious treats, from ripe red tomatoes to white eggplants and sweet corn on the cob.

My favorite recent recipe is grits, but unlike any you have had. These grits are super creamy and have a strong corn flavor that feels hearty and tastes delicious. It is a take on how Chef Patrick O’Connell serves them at his award-winning restaurant. Recipe after the jump.

Start by boiling 4 1/2 cups of whole milk with one bay leaf, a pinch of cayenne pepper, and salt. Once it’s boiling, add 1/4 cup of coarsely ground cornmeal and stir continuously until the mixture thickens. You can lower the heat to medium, but stay close and stir often. The grits will be a decadent, thick texture in about 30 to 40 minutes.

Take the bay leaf out and stir in 1/4 cup of grated parmesan or pecorino cheese before serving. I also like to stir in some of those fresh corn kernels from the CSA for crunch. These grits a great carb to go alongside a meaty stew or grilled seafood. Trust me, you will love this one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Feed Me

Leave a Reply

