Banana yogurt popsicles

popsicle
Life enjoys being a bit ironic, I think, so it isn’t surprising to me that my little kiddo has little interest in food. Getting him to eat is one of our biggest challenges, which I guess isn’t that atypical for a two-year-old. But he does love his ice cream. The blistering heat in Seattle this summer gives us both good excuses to consume it in copious amounts, but that’s not necessarily a good thing.

So, I’ve been on the quest to find some cool treats that are slightly healthier. We recently had popsicles at a fair that were creamier than your usual ice pops, and I really enjoyed them. I chanced upon a recipe in Saveur for strawberry rhubarb yogurt popsicles, and a lightbulb went off.

Using yogurt to cream up a popsicle is a healthy way of simulating that ice-cream goodness. I didn’t have strawberry or rhubarb on hand, but I do have lots of bananas (thank you, Costco). Now, I have frozen banana halves with popsicle sticks before, because they taste very creamy and satisfying frozen, so I suspected that I could dial back on all the artificial sugar if I went this route. I decided to add a little more flavor and creaminess with peanut butter. And that’s it. These popsicles are a simple mix of those ingredients, plus a dash of milk.

To make six 4 oz. pops, simply blend 2 medium-sized bananas, 1/3 cup of peanut butter, 1/3 cup of full-fat yogurt and 4-ish tablespoons of whole milk. Let the blender go for a few minutes so you get a very smooth consistency. It should be thick like the texture of heavy whipping cream. Add a little milk or yogurt to thin it out as needed, or more banana to thicken, then pour the mixture into your popsicle molds and freeze until solid.

When S enjoys these, I can feel good knowing he is getting protein, fresh fruit, good dairy fats and healthy bacteria. Chalk that up to a win!

Leave a comment

Filed under Feed Me

Leave a Reply

